T20 world cup 2012

Cricket has always been considered as the longest time consuming game but now a days the shortest version of the game is the most fascinating part of cricket these days. The adrenalin it generates is almost as huge as American Football. Gone are the days of traditional conservatism associated to cricket. The game has become crisp and an experience that will make you bite your nails off. The world has witnessed the madness with the previous three years of the Twenty20 championships and the anticipation is soaring with the T20 World Cup 2012. The games have been set and the preparations are almost over for the new tournament. One can only imagine the tension that building and will continue until the final match of the T20 World Cup 2012.

ICC T20 world cup 2012 format will see four groups of three in a preliminary round. India and England are in the same group and will be joined by the runner up of the ICC World T20 Qualifier; Afghanistan. The Champions of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier; Ireland are in a group with West Indies and Australia. Sri Lanka, South Africa and Zimbabwe, and Pakistan, New Zealand and Bangladesh are the other two groups.

The format is the same as the ICC Twenty20 cricket world cup 2010 edition. The top two teams from each group will proceed to the Super Eight stage of the tournament. The Super Eight will consist of two groups. The top two teams from the two Super Eight groups would play the semi-finals, and the semi-final winners would contest the final, to be played at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium.

ICC World T20 event is the 5th Largest Tournament and most viewed sporting event. The First Twenty20 Tournament was organized in 2007 in South Africa.12 team took part in that tournament and the trophy was lifted by India.

The Year 2009 was a successful year for the Pakistani cricket team; the second Twenty20 international tournament was organized in England, following the introductory event in South Africa in September 2007. In this tournament the same number of team participated as in 2007 and Pakistan was declared as the winner of the tournament after beating Sri Lanka. The defending Champions were out of the tournament at the super 8 stage.

In 2010, it was the third T20 World Cup which was held in West Indies. Number of teams participating was 12, although the tournament was held every two years beginning in 2007 but the ICC Champions Trophy One Day International tournament which was to be held in the West Indies in 2010 was revised to a Twenty20 format because the 2008 Champions Trophy tournament in Pakistan was postponed due to security concerns and there was a need to correct the international cricketing tournament calendar. England joined Pakistan and India by winning this tournament and Pakistan was out of the tournament as they were not successful in the semi finals against Australia.